Blue Series

The Blue Series follows the Green Series, and consists of 10 Photo Titles. As the Blue Series progresses, the following concepts are introduced:

  • long <o>/ō/ and long <e>/ē/ in single syllable words

  • <y>/ī/ in stressed syllable and <y>/ē/ in unstressed syllables

  • vowel digraphs <ee>, <ay> and <ai>

  • <er> and <or>, and the concept of r-controlled vowels

  • “marker <e>” after <v>

  • compound words and 2 syllable words

  • High Frequency Words: “you”, “your”, “do”, “love”, “are”, “from”, and “one”

The Blue Series has a range of text structures. Some texts, like the Green Series Photo Stories, have more of a narrative structure, describing what the characters are doing and experiencing. Other texts are non-fiction and informative. The series includes engaging topics ranging from sledding, to life in the city, to fun things to do at recess. Like the Green Series, the text is large and clear with extra space to help young readers see the distinction between each word.

Purchase Now

Scope and Sequence

We have created 3 versions of our Scope and Sequence - all include the same content, but are in different printable formats. Please feel free to download whichever version best suits your needs.

Scope and Sequence Page